DIY Shoe Embellishment

8 Apr

today I was board of these old red shoes! i began to think…  flats are still in style & its not in my budget to go out and buy new ones… my motto: same chic, different day ❤ so lets make our own shoe embellishments to doll up these cute flats!

MATERIALS:

  • old pair of shoes
  • ribbon
  • hot glue gun ($2.99 at walmart)
  • jewels, pearls, old earring clips
  • matches
  • small rotary cutter
  • fabric scissors
  • white embroidery floss or bowdabra bow wire
    1. First I measured my ribbon to fit across the top of my shoe, and i cut the ends with the rotary cutter.
    2. I used matches to burn the edges of my ribbon to prevent the ribbon from fraying.
    3. I glued the ribbon across the shoe, and used the glue ONLY at the two ends of the ribbon near the sole of the shoe.
    4. Then I cut more ribbon to create a bow. I cut about three inches of ribbon folded the top of the ribbon downwards, then folded the bottom upwards so that the two ends meet in the middle.
    5. Then take your embroidery floss or in this case I always use the bowdabra bow wire ($2.19 for 50 feet at A.C. Moore) and tie a knot around the middle of the ribbon.
    6. Now cut another inch of ribbon to create the middle section of our bow. First you are going to put a dab of glue right in the middle of our bow (ON THE WRONG SIDE), on top of the bow wire/floss. Take the end of the inch of ribbon and hold it down onto the glue. Wrap the rest of the ribbon around the bow, glue in place and cut off excess ribbon.
    7. Now glue the bow (ON THE WRONG SIDE) onto the ribbon that is already glue onto the shoe.
    1. Add jewels, pearls or what your little heart desires 🙂 the end! have fun & good luck!

4 Responses to “DIY Shoe Embellishment”

  1. Jill April 8, 2011 at 12:18 PM #

    Super cute! Love them!

    • ladyofversailles April 8, 2011 at 12:22 PM #

      THANK YOU! it’s super easy you will have to try it sometime! it only takes about 10 minutes really 🙂 love you!

  2. Bowdabra Design Team April 23, 2011 at 4:13 PM #

    Love the tutorial. Bowdabra Bow Wire is really easy to work with and holds the ribbon extra tight. We have shared your tutorial link with our Bowdabra Facebook Fans. Thanks!

    • ladyofversailles April 23, 2011 at 11:30 PM #

      I am so glad that you enjoyed my tutorial! Thank you so much for sharing this link to all of your facebook fans, I really appreciate it 🙂

Leave a comment